About Us

About Nebraskans for Solar 

Nebraskans for Solar (NFS) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization founded in January 2012. We work with allied nonprofits and agencies, schools, businesses and individuals to advance renewable energy in our state and to raise awareness about the economic and environmental benefits of green energy to our local communities.

We sponsor two programs:

  • Green Watts for Good
    We seek partnerships through our Green Watts for Good Program on solar projects as part of community development and revitalization, such as the Seventy Five North project in the Highlander Neighborhood in North Omaha, and on solar installations on Nebraska food pantries, homeless shelters, children’s homes and other nonprofits that provide a hand up to people in need. This is a way partnering nonprofits can reduce their energy bills over 25 or more years, money they can use to support their programs and mission.
  • Nebraska Solar Schools
    Nebraska Solar Schools’ Education & Development Program provides numerous resources for K-12 teachers to facilitate integration of renewable energy education into their classrooms and after-school programs. Resources are also provided for those who want to install a photovoltaic (PV) system at their school.
    country: www.nebraskasolarschools.org

Our general focus areas include:

  • Green Energy
    We support and provide information and resources on all types of green energy, including solar, wind, geothermal, hydropower, energy efficiency and energy conservation.
  • Education
    We provide news and resources for all ages at our events, on our websites and Facebook Page and through our electronic newsletters. We sponsor, or co-sponsor with allied organizations, an ongoing series of free educational events for all ages, including workshops, presentations and solar tours. In addition to all forms of green energy, topics of interest include community economic development through renewable energy projects, green energy jobs, electric vehicles, carbon sequestration through regenerative farming, decarbonization, climate action by all ages and its environmental and economic benefits for communities everywhere.

Leave a Reply