Public hearing on Legislative Bill 424 scheduled for this Friday

LB424 – Provide and change zoning requirements for wind energy generation projects

The Legislature’s Government, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee will hold a public hearing on LB 424 this Friday, February 26th at 1:30 pm in Room 1507 of the State Capitol. Introduced by Senator Tom Brewer of Gordon, the measure would limit wind farms to counties that have passed zoning regulations to govern them. 

Introducer’s Statement of Intent (PDF)
The intent of LB 424 is to increase the voice local citizens have in the process counties use to authorize the construction of industrial wind energy projects in their county. Requiring counties to have zoning that addresses the three big concerns citizens have about wind energy creates a number of opportunities for citizen concerns to be heard in a public hearing. The aim of this is to help reduce the growing citizen anger over being forced to be neighbors to these massive facilities. 

Find a link to submit comments onlline on LB 424 here.

Nebraska Legislature’s Resources for Testifiers

The Nebraska Legislature’s Written Position Letter Policy for Public Hearings
If you are not testifying in person on a bill and would like to submit a written position letter to be included in the official hearing record as an exhibit, the letter must be delivered to the office of the committee chair (or emailed to the committee chair) of the committee conducting the hearing on the bill by 5:00 p.m. on the last work day prior to the public hearing.

Additionally, the letter must include your name and address, state a position of for, against, or neutral on the bill in question and include a request for the letter to be included as part of the public hearing record. 

Government, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee Members

Sen. Tom Brewer, Chairperson tbrewer@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Carol Blood  cblood@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Steve Halloran shalloran@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Matt Hansen mhansen@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Megan Hunt mhunt@leg.ne.gov
Sen. John Lowe jlowe@leg.ne.gov
Sen. John McCollister jmccollister@leg.ne.gov
Sen. Rita Sanders rsanders@leg.ne.gov