Green Bellevue Hosts Another Memorable Earth Day Celebration

“Our vision for celebrating Earth Day is to offer a memorable, unprecedented and fun venue for our community to celebrate, raise awareness of the environmental needs in our community, and provide education on Earth friendly practices and why we must do them.”

Green Bellevue hosted the 2017 Sarpy County Earth Day on Sunday, April 30th at the Bellevue Public Schools Lied Activity Center, and hundreds of people of all ages turned out to celebrate. President Don Preister began the event with a welcoming speech and opening ceremony. The Educational Speaker Series followed, along with a green expo with numerous exhibitors, youth activities, the Fashion-Trashion Show, and the Environment Champion Awards.

The Environment Champion award is given each year at Sarpy County’s Earth Day to those who demonstrated outstanding work in promotion of sustainable, green practices. The award is given to those who specifically impact environment efforts in the local area but can also be impacting other areas of Nebraska or globally.

The following are 2017 Environment Champions: 
Martha Ruff
Gus von Roenn, who has also served on Nebraskans for Solar’s Board.
Eric Williams, who is also Nebraskans for Solar’s Past President during 2017.
Sarah Lively
Cathy Fugel
Alex Colby
Jill Krumbach
Corrie Oberdin
David Stotts
Jeanine Lackey
David Holtzclaw
Kat Woerner
Tess Sykes
Emily Salie
Zoo Academy Class 2017
Alex Wiles
Kylee Rene Fischer
Debbie Fischer
Bellevue Garden Club
Roger Cox

To learn more about Green Bellevue, visit: